Top sports people named

The First Teams Awards were held on October 25, celebrating our top athletes.

Award winning sports students.

Impressive highlights from various sports included New Zealand championship titles, Oceania medals, and NZ and world records.

This year, acknowledging our NZ representatives was included as part of the evening, and guests certainly felt they were sitting among some of the most elite sporting teenagers in the country. 

MC for the evening was Stephen McIvor, who introduced each team. Guest speakers Grace Prendergast and Kerri Gowler - current world rowing champions - gave us an insight of what it takes to be at the top of their sport, challenges, and future goals.

St Peter’s is very proud of the athletes that have achieved the pinnacle of their school sporting career by being selected for a NZ team.

The full list of winners is: 

Nicola Hammond - Rider of the Year Outstanding Performance.

Shayla Shaw - Mark Todd Trophy for Outstanding Contribution to Equestrian.

Kata Brill - Most Outstanding Male Forward, Senior Premier Basketball.

Hugh Douglas - Most Outstanding Male Guard, Senior Premier Basketball.

Issa Kunda - Most Valued Player, Senior Premier Boys Basketball.

Jayze Waihi - Most Outstanding Senior Girls Guard, Senior Premier Basketball.

Ella Bradley - Most Outstanding Senior Girls Forward, Senior Premier Basketball.

Charliesse Leger-Walker - Most Valued Player, Senior Premier Girls Basketball.

Charlisse Leger-Walker playing for the Junior Tall Ferns.

Luke Mitchell - Highest Achievement by a St Peter’s Swimmer.

Charli Miller - Highest Achievement by a St Peter’s Athlete.

Conor McGiven- Sloan & Russek Cup, Most Contribution to St Peter’s Athletics.

Charli Miller - Charlton Family Cup, Best Annual Cross Country Performance.

Sophie Unsworth - MVP Coaches Cup,  Lacrosse.

Rory MacGillivray - The Captains Choice, 1st XI Boys Hockey.

Mark Hazelton - The Premier Boys Hockey Award for Greatest Contribution to 1st XI.

Shannon Fleming - Morrison Trophy for Best All Round Girls Hockey Player.

Emma Frengley - Williams Trophy for Girls Hockey 1st XI Captains Choice Award.

Chelsea Sherry-Tau - Holland Trophy for the Most Contribution to Netball.

Lisa Mather - Julian Shield for the Open A Player who Contributes the Most Skills.

Campbell Child - 1st XI Boys Cricket Coaches Award.

Scott Law - Henderson Trophy for the 1st XI Best Batsman.

Tiger Houston - Chester Cup for the 1st XI Best Bowler.

Christian Stewart - Best Male Skier at NISS Skiing Champs.

Chloe McMillan - Best Female Skier at NISS Skiing Champs.

Mac Rogers - Best Male Performance at the NISS Snowboarding Champs.

Ruby Rogers - Best Female Performance at the NISS Snowboarding Champs.

Ruby Rogers - Female Contribution to Snowboarding.

James Wilson - Male Contribution to Snowboarding.

Focus Jonglikit - Bob McDonald Trophy Golfer of the Year.

Finlay Barnett - Most Valuable Male Player, Senior Touch.

Georgie Edgecombe - Most Valuable Female Player, Senior Touch.

Charlisse Leger-Walker - St Peter’s Touch Convenor’s Award for Unselfish and Dedicated Service.

Raneira Maxwell - McRae Cup for the Senior Boys Tennis Singles Champion.

Nicola Hammond.

Nina Paripovich - Oliver Trophy for Senior Girls Tennis Singles Champion.

Nina Paripovich - Robb Trophy for Greatest Contribution to Tennis.

Rueben Van Dalen - Male Rower of the Year.

Sydney Johnson - Female Rower of the Year.

Ally Wollaston - Most Valuable Team Member, Cycling.

Ellesse Andrews - Rider of the Year.

Ollie Norris - Lawson Trophy for 1st XV Excellence.

James Thompson Struthers Trophy for Outstanding Service to the 1st XV.

Kaea Hongara - John Hart Jersey for the Most Contribution to the Team, 1st XV.

Daniel Marsden - Wilcocks Football Shield for the Most Improved Secondary School Player.

Campbell Child - Spykerbosch Trophy for Best Individual Merit for 1st XI Football.

Owen Comber - Brisbane Trophy for the 1st XI Boys Football Outstanding Commitment.

Amber Harris - Best Contribution to 1st XI Girls Soccer.

Brie Perry - Most Improved player for 1st XI Girls Football.

Kate Williams - Cain Trophy Girls Soccer All Round Player.

Charlisse Leger-Walker - Willoughby Trophy, Year 11 Sportswoman.

Jason Nel - Willoughby Trophy, Year 11 Sportsman.

Chloe McMillan.


St Peter's News
News EventsNews